h1

New features!! bling bling

January 23, 2007

Okay, for you non-blogging geeks, this is not a big deal, but for those of us who’ve been doing this a while, every little advance is quite welcome. WordPress, the free software/hosting service that powers this blog, has just added audio capability to their blogging software. You just can’t beat wordpress.

So, in order to take a break from my very long hours of work these days, I decided to give the new feature a test ride. But what song? Hmmm… Seeing as I’m trying to use this site to provide a glimpse of my life in here Hanguk, I decided I’d just check my itunes, see what song I’ve played the most over the past few months, and post that.

So, here it is, “Romulus” by Sufjan Stevens. Romulus here refers not the the beast child who gve his name to the capital of Rome, but rather the dingy town where the Detroit Airport is located. It seems to always be grey in Romulus… and every car is rusty… every housefrau in a housecoat smoking a cigarette and carrying a cold, half-drinken cup of coffee, with unkempt kids running around making too much noise. Yes, a pretty sight. Sufjan captures the beauty of that sorrow perfectly. Funny enough, it makes me a bit homesick, even for a place I never felt all that attached to.

2 comments

  1. but i would have expected some smithsy tune! anyway, sufjan is a nice guy. did i tell you that i met him once at the blind pig? nice, but self-absorbed though.


  2. Well, thanks to you Fernando, I’ve listened to nothing but the Smiths since you posted your comment. The citizens of Seoul thank you, I’m sure, since I can’t help but sing along as I submerse myself in my ipod world.



Leave a Reply

