h1

Ah~~~~ Shil-eo~~~~

January 20, 2007

The title of this post means, “I hate it!” but more like, “Hate! Hate! Hate! Hate it!” and that’s exactly me right now.

I’m in the midst of a major work marathon and shouldn’t be blogging, but the fact is, my heart won’t let me work right yet, cuz, you see… we just had a freakin’ EARTHQUAKE!!!

Now, by the standards of anyone used to these things, it was nothing. I called some friends, they didn’t even notice. My California based neighbors noticed, but ignored it cuz it was so small. But this cheddarhead and his cat sure the hell noticed.

I was leaning against the outer wall, and the whole thing just rumbled through a big wave motion. This was joined by a deep rumble from the bowels of the earth and then a few more sharp jolts. All in all, it took about 5 or 7 seconds total. But that’s more than enough for me.

I’m not too frightened of many things on this earth any more. Sharks – yes. Drunk, macho, belligerent men – yes. Earthquakes – most definitely. This is the third one I’ve ever experienced, and the result is always the same – involuntary heart throbbing out of my chest and minor hyperventilation. Nothing else on this earth effects me like that… (well, ‘ceptin my wife sometimes, naturally) Woah.

Odd notes about the Korean context.

  1. The first thought was indeed – Earthquake. But the second thought was, “Oh F***, did the North Korean really go and do something crazy?”
  2. In order to verify it was indeed an earthquake, I could go to a Korean portal site and watch the real time “most popular search” window. “Jijin” the word for earthquake shot up the charts to number one in a matter of seconds. That’s pretty cool, no?

Looks like it was a 4.8er in Gangwon Province… 8:56 pm.

