h1

The other side of never

January 6, 2007

For years, I was all but convinced that I would never finish this degree, and yet, thanks to the constant love and support of family and friends (not to mention an advisor who quite miraculously never gave up on me), here I finally am. I won’t lie – it feels pretty damn good, maybe even better than I imagined. Actually, since I defended on December 7th, I’ve been swamped with final revisions, prepping for interviews at the annual MLA job convention, planning winter term classes, and now, preparing for campus job visits. Even so, there is much to be said for finally being able to sleep soundly and wake up NOT immediately overwhelmed by anxiety and panic. For this reason, and especially because Matty and I were able to spend the past few weeks celebrating together with loved ones (without a writing deadline hanging over my head for the first time in over 5 years!), this was by far the most wonderful winter break in memory. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to take as many pictures as we would haved liked, but you can check out the few we have on our flickr site.

For now, I am back in Ann Arbor with Stevie, and Matty back in Seoul, newly accompanied by Ling (who apparently was a real trouper on the 24-hour trip to Korea). Our original plans of my waiting out the jobsearch season in Chicagoland, then joining Matty in Korea in early March have been altered, due to the fact that I accepted a post-doctoral teaching position through my department at Michigan. If all goes as planned, I’ll finish out the semester here and hopefully head to Seoul with Stevie in late April or early May. If fate smiles upon us and I am offered a teaching position for next year, we’ll be back in the states in late July; if not, we’ll stay in Korea for another year.

I promised a few people more detailed MLA / jobsearch updates, so if you are interested, read on. Otherwise, here’s to a 2007 filled with peace, happiness, good health, and prosperity!

(more…)

