h1

Past the hump already?

September 20, 2006

Woah… time is absolutely whizzin’ by. Which means I gotta work, work, work. So far, pretty good – did get some great articles and meet some great professors already. Today I went to Yonsei University and got an all-inclusive library card, courtesy of Fulbright. Way cool. In addition, they have free wireless and it works with my Mac (Seoul-dae doesn’t have either). In addition to that, it is closer to my house, just a short bus trip and walk.

Tomorrow, I’ll be finding out about an opportunity to serve as managing editor for a journal on Korean Studies, and will also go to a seminar by one of the pre-eminent scholars on the study of culture and history in the Korea’s colonial period, my topic exactly.

I have to say all this, of course, because the main topic of most of my entries is “play” and Mom has already tut-tutted once about me getting to work! I am working, I promise. But it is boring to blog about… and play is so much more photogenic!

Take for instance this super cute cat I saw yesterday as I shared a meal on the side of the Han-gang (delivered right to our spot via motor scooter!):

Steve's Korean cousin

And for riverside entertainment, a shaman training session in progress (bad quality – due to distance/darkness):

shaman on the river

I’ll tell you more about shamans in the near future, when i get a bit more time to write. For now, let’s just say, don’t believe any cultural generalizations you read about Korea if they do not quickly include a mention of the role of shamans/spirits/fortune telling. These folks are at the very heart of Korean culture, and moreover, their modus operandi of being in a constant battle for domination over those spirits is a perfect metaphor for Korean contemporary culture in general, including the realms of Confucianism, Buddhism, Christianity and secularism.

Coming up this weekend: first formal Fulbright get-together, a trip to a dance club in Hongdae, and a major demonstration on Sunday. Expect pictures of 2 out of these 3, hopefully.

One comment

  1. Wow, Matty, you can always manage to come up with another job offer. How do you do it? Continue to have fun!!!



Leave a Reply

