h1

Checking in…

August 31, 2006

Hello faithful readers~

Where are the apartment pictures? Where are the first posts about my new digs? Well, they’re coming, I promise. But after I take a short break. Truth be told, I’m beat. Coming to Korea was really tiring, the week before and now the week after, so, I’m trying to slow down a little bit. Consider my horrible jet lag that continues: after a great morning run on the Han gang (a whole 7 miles on my first time out, yeay!) I proceeded to slag through the rest of the day, collapsing at 8.30 pm. I awoke feeling rested, content and wide awake… only to realize it was 2.20 am and I wasn’t gonna get back to sleep. Argh.

Also, I wanted to get the apartment organized/decorated a bit before letting it go public 🙂 I’m almost done though, so you’ll see it soon. But, not immediately, because as I am wont to do, I escaped Seoul the first chance I got to go to my old Korean hometown, Gwangju. Here in Gwangju I have two of my best friends in Korea, Bob and Hwancheol. They own a little English academy and have a nice little place here near the World Cup soccer stadium. Gwangju is such a nice respite from Seoul – cleaner, quieter, gentler…. and my friends’ hospitality is just too dang inviting to resist. I expect to making a few visits here over the year.

For now, that’s all I can add. I’ll try to get my pictures online soon for all to see… and I’ll try to find some exciting things to write about. Most importantly, I just need to get my “sea legs” here on the wild peninsula. Until next time… I miss you all!

2 comments

  1. Glad to hear you made it to the red city, safe and sound. Enjoy the energy re-up before diving into the stacks at SNU and please give Bob and Hwancheol-unni a big hug from me – I can hardly wait to see them both again in March.


  2. SOUNDS LIKE AN EXHAUSTING BUT FUN TIME. IT’S NICE THAT YOU HAVE SOMEWHERE TO GO TO GET AWAY AND GOOD FRIENDS TO DO IT WITH.



Leave a Reply

